Wednesday, 9 August 2017

Book Review - Lola Offline by Nicola Doherty

Amazon UK
Title: Lola Offline
Author: Nicola Doherty
Format reviewed: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Orion's Children's Books
Publication Date: 10th August 2017
Rating: 5 Stars

On the internet, there are no take-backs... LOLA OFFLINE is a teen romantic comedy set in Paris, perfect for fans of Holly Bourne, Sophie Kinsella and Stephanie Perkins.

Delilah Hoover has gone dark. She's quit social media, moved to Paris and changed her name to Lola Maxwell. Because she made a mistake - one she can't take back. It was all over Twitter, and it's still the first thing that comes up when you Google her.

Paris is a fresh start, in a new school with new friends including smooth student politician Tariq. With awkward dates, tipsy afternoons and a perfect kiss, Lola's life as a normal teenager could be back on track ... But can she ever tell people who she really is? And what happens if they find out first?

Such a believable story and incredibly contemporary featuring issues that could potentially affect any modern teenager. If you are a young adult, or have a young adult then this is worth reading, as it deals with after effects of when you make a mistake online and it goes viral. 

In Delilah Hoover's case, the level of notoriety she gained, left her feeling friendless, alone and in need of an escape. So she persuades her parents to let her go to an International boarding school in Paris, France, for her to study for the IB (International Baccalaureate) instead of her A-Levels. 

Not only does she change her country but she becomes Lola Maxwell, a girl with no social media accounts at all, and a fear that everyone at her new school will find out her biggest secret.  I loved seeing a boarding school in Paris, and meeting all the various children that go there.  

As Lola's time in Paris progresses, we are introduced to a variety of potential friends for her, each with their own personality quirks, and also we are shown Paris, not the major tourist attractions as such, but some of the hidden gems of the city too. 

I enjoyed seeing how Lola overcame her experience and starts to learn new things not only in her school subjects but also about herself too. She never was the most outgoing or popular sort of girl, has some geekish tendencies and as a result the way she copes is even more admirable. 

Although I'm an adult, I still found myself completely able to empathise with Lola and her predicament, possibly because you need to be so careful with social media or it can be a nightmare, that and I've always loved stories set in schools. 

Lola Offline is a captivating story that actually anyone who deals with social media could gain something from. 

Thanks to Orion and Netgalley for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...